top of page


Live Life Happy Therapy Logo

Understanding Grief

Grief is a profound emotional response to a significant loss. While most commonly associated with the death of a loved one, grief can also arise from other losses, such as the end of a relationship, job termination, or the passing of a cherished pet.


Experiencing grief is undeniably challenging, often ushering in waves of powerful emotions. Nevertheless, it's essential to remember that grief is a natural process, not an illness. It doesn't have a 'cure', nor is there a set timeline for its progression. The intensity of grief generally diminishes over time, and most individuals discover ways to navigate life in the absence of what they've lost. The duration of this process varies, as grief is uniquely personal.


Being compassionate and patient with oneself is pivotal during this time. Grief can reshape one's identity, but many eventually rediscover joy and meaning in life. It's not unusual for the memory of the lost to always linger, but it doesn’t always dominate one's thoughts.

The Emotional Spectrum of Grief

The manifestations of grief are diverse, and it's impossible to predict precisely how anyone will react to loss. Some common emotional responses include:


 Sadness: A profound sense of loss can make one recollect cherished memories and moments spent with the departed.


 Shock & Denial: Some may feel emotionally insulated, a mechanism to shield oneself from immediate pain.


 Numbness: This emotional buffer helps some process their loss gradually and at their own pace.


 Panic & Confusion: The absence left behind might evoke existential questions and an altered sense of self.


 Anger: It's not uncommon to grapple with bitterness, seeking to attribute blame for the loss.


 Overwhelm: The magnitude of grief can be daunting initially, but with time, many find ways to coexist with their feelings.


 Relief: In cases of prolonged suffering or strained relationships, the passing might bring a sense of release.


 Mixed Emotions: A complex tapestry of feelings might emerge, especially if one had a complicated relationship with the departed.


Each person's grieving journey is distinct, with no universally 'right' way to navigate it. Some might express their feelings openly, while others might prefer solitude.


Factors like the nature of the relationship, prior experiences with grief, and available support can shape one's grieving process. Secondary challenges may also arise, including sleep disturbances, appetite changes, physical health concerns, or altered social inclinations.

The Grief Cycle

Research suggests that many individuals progress through stages or cycles of grief, often termed 'mourning'. Though deeply personal, these stages can be influenced by cultural, societal, and personal beliefs. Some prevalent stages include:


 Denial: Dominated by shock and disbelief.


 Anger: Where feelings of resentment and blame are common.


 Depression: A sense of hopelessness might prevail.


 Bargaining: Guilt-ridden "what if" questions might emerge.


 Acceptance: Recognizing the new reality and gradually moving forward.


It's crucial to understand that these stages are not linear. Individuals might oscillate between stages, skip some, or experience them in a different sequence. Some might not align with this cycle at all.


Understanding grief is about acknowledging its unpredictability and embracing the unique ways in which we cope and heal.

At Live Life Happy Therapy, I'm here to stand beside you during your challenging moments of grief. Offering counselling, psychotherapy, hypnotherapy, and mindfulness-based cognitive therapy, I aim to guide you through these trying times.



Marie Curie. (2023). Grieving Your Way. Available at: [Accessed 13 Oct. 2023].

American Psychological Association. (2022). Grief. Available at:,and%20apprehension%20about%20the%20future [Accessed 13 Oct. 2023].

Marie Curie. (2023). Grieving Your Way. Available at: [Accessed 13 Oct. 2023].

bottom of page